Alastere Forums  
Alastere: the Forum
 | Frontpage | Forums | Register | Reply | Search | Statistics | Manual |
General Discussion Alastere: the Forum / General Discussion /

Ten Years

Author SpaceMouse
Admin

#1 | Posted: 2 Jan 2023 11:25 | Edited by: SpaceMouse 
Ten years! I have been making Alastere for 10 years. That's an average of about 60 pages a year. More than a page a week, due to the period I updated twice a week for a while. That's a lot, and I have a mishmash of thoughts about it.
I never would have expected ten years ago I'd still be doing this. Not for a lack of story to tell, just from... trouble with motivation, I suppose. But setting deadlines gets you to work on things, and having a weekly deadline helps to force work. It's been harder lately to focus enough to work, what with all that's happened lately, but I've had highs and lows throughout all ten years.
Ten years ago, I was partly through my master's degree. I started it, inspired by other web-centered comics (such as Homestuck), with the idea of making a comic that felt like you were playing a video game. Over winter break, I coded the engine that builds comics, displays them on a webpage, and made some test pages to experiment with it:
Test panel 1A
There's the first test page I made to test it. The way the engine works is reading and interpreting xml files - the "scripts" as I call them - and the first page was a test of just K'Sarian and Dia talking. Dunno why I always trended towards testing stuff with them.
I had a story that had changed over my life since middle school, manifested in various forms (a D&D game, an attempt at writing a novel, for two), and I hoped a webcomic would give me excuse to practice my art, and get the story out in a way people could enjoy it. I never expected to have MUSIC for the entire thing - that came later - and I never expected to be able to have worked on it for a full decade.